What I wanna do when I grow up

A couple of days ago I thought I should make a list of the (not so many) people I really respect and admire in this world. And when I say “respect and admire” I really mean “I wish I could be like them one day”. Here’re the most important ones so far (obviously, list in progress):

– Steve Jobs (www.apple.com) because, like he said, “I don’t think of my life as a career. I do stuff. I respond to stuff. That’s not a career — it’s a life!”. He cares about what he does, he likes it, he is the best in his field and he actually managed to make a difference in this world. And he keeps going.

– Artemy Lebedev (www.design.ru) mostly for the same reason as Steve. Artemy is a Russian designer working in various fields (web/publishing/industrial design) and he is the best at what he does. He cares only about finding great solutions to real problems, ignores what everybody thinks or says, and shares my thoughts about money just as a means to get freedom (in his case, freedom to travel whenever, wherever). Very controversial person, and awesome that way.

– Salman Khan (www.khanacademy.com), the guy who quit his job in Silicon Valley and started recording 10-15 min videos explaining basic math, stats and science. It’s one of the most amazing things around. Sal clearly found his calling, ’cause he is born to be a teacher, but he figured out a way to be one for millions of people, anywhere in the world. A person like that with an idea like that can really make a difference.

Obviously, there’re many others that should be on this list, e.g. Edward Tufte, Frank Warren, Yana Frank, but these are the ones I found myself thinking about lately. Others will follow sometime in the (hopefully near) future.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

